The Geology Department of is the teaching and research unit responsible for the teaching of geological subjects in the studies offered by the University of Oviedo, as well as for the scientific activity in this field. At present, 39 lecturers, 9 members of the administration and service staff, and about twenty grant holders and contracted researchers are attached to the Department of Geology.

The Department of Geology is made up of six Areas of Knowledge: Crystallography and Mineralogy, Stratigraphy, Internal Geodynamics, External Geodynamics, Palaeontology, Petrology and Geochemistry.

Datos de contacto
Correo electrónico: dpto.geologia@uniovi.es
Dirección: Llamaquique Campus. Jesús Arias de Velasco, s/n. 33005 - Oviedo
Teléfono: 985 10 31 04, 985 10 31 18
Fax: 985 10 31 03
Información académica: Academic Information


Ms. Gabriela Fernández Viejo

Academic Secretary

Ms. Laura Rodríguez Rodríguez


  • Crystallography and Mineralogy
  • Stratigraphy
  • External Geodynamics
  • Internal Geodynamics
  • Palaeontology
  • Petrology and Geochemistry

Teaching Staff

Teaching centres