The University of Oviedo is organized into 38 Departments in the five branches of knowledge to which the majority of the personnel doing research work is connected.

The Departments are teaching and research units in charge of coordinating teaching in one or various fields of knowledge, in one or various centres, according to the education programmes of the University. They also provide support to the teaching and research activities and initiatives of the teaching staff, as well as carrying out other functions entrusted them by the University Statutes and by current legislation.