The University of Oviedo has teaching centres on seven campuses distributed throughout three cities in central Asturias. Its eleven Faculties award degrees in the Sciences, Social and Legal Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Health Sciences. Some of these centres offer bilingual pathway programmes and double degrees.

The fusion of 15 university schools and faculties into six large centres, undertaken by the University of Oviedo within the framework of the Campus of International Excellence (CEI), has been cited as an example to follow by the international committee which drew up the 2015 University Strategy Report, a document making recommendations regarding long-term strategies and improvements for Spanish universities.