• The Universities of the G-9 express their concern for the delay in the call for research of the State Plan

    March 13, 2014

    The Sectorial Committee of Research, gathered in Logroño, has finished drafting the details of a protocol of collaboration between the Scientific-Technical Services of the 9 universities of the Group.

    The Vice-Rectors for Research and Transference of the Group 9 of Universities (G-9) have shown their "concern for the delay that has been accumulated in the calls for Projects of the State Plan" during the Sectorial Committee of Research of the G-9, which took place this week at the University of La Rioja.

    The Vice-Rectors have also expressed their concern "because the Government, instead of looking ahead, has been messing with the past in order to make more money, retroactively applying criteria to projects that have already been finished and which were approved under previous regulations. All of this while completely disregarding the scientific results obtained".

    The Sectorial Committee of Research has studied shared stances that promote R&D&i, create a space for reflection and analysis of aspects related to scientific production, management, transference and the improvement of researching activities. Presided over by Vicente Gotor, Rector of the University of Oviedo, the meeting has gathered more than thirty representatives, between Vice-Rectors, members of the Research Management Services, from the Genueve Ediciones publishing house and the offices of Transference of Research Results (OTRIs). All of them have worked in parallel sessions, with the exception of the final meeting, when the conclusions and agreements reached were presented jointly.

    The reunion has also led to the completion of the protocol of collaboration between the Scientific-Technical Services of the universities of the G-9, which will facilitate, in the near future, the development of joint maintenance contracts, support to the formation of technicians, support between the laboratories against breakdowns of important equipment and the creation of a catalog of services and equipment of the nine universities. Moreover, the representatives of the universities of the Group have approached the participation of the universities in the enterprises created within them and the normalization, in the G-9, of a common set of participation conditions.

    In terms of the Sectorial Committee, the workgroup of the Genueve Ediciones met to evaluate the recent activities of this university publishing house. In turn, the Sectorial Committee of Research has offered the latest actions made by UNIVALUE, an entity whose aim is to transfer to the world of business and associations the scientific knowledge generated within the universities of the G-9.

    El Grupo 9 de Universidades (G-9), asociación creada en 1997, está integrado por las únicas 9 universidades españolas que son únicas universidades públicas en sus respectivas Comunidades Autónomas. Integran el Grupo: Universidad de Cantabria, Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha, Universidad de Extremadura, Universitat de les Illes Balears, Universidad de La Rioja, Universidad de Oviedo, Universidad del País Vasco, Universidad Pública de Navarra y Universidad de Zaragoza.

    The Group 9 of Universities (G-9), an association created in 1997, is composed by the only 9 Spanish universities that are the sole public universities of their respective Autonomous Communities. The members of the group are: the University of Cantabria, the University of Castilla-La Mancha, the University of Extremadura, the University of the Balearic Isles, University of La Rioja, the University of Oviedo, the University of the Basque Country, the Public University of Navarra and the University of Zaragoza.