University Senate

It is the maximum representative body of the university community (art. 47.1 of the Statutes of the University of Oviedo). It is integrated by the Rector, the Secretary General, the Manager and three hundred elected members coming from different sectors of the university community. The elections to the senate are called every four years; this body holds a plenary meeting at least once a year.

The Senate is responsible for the partial or total amendment of the Statutes of the University, know its general action lines, propose initiatives to the Governing Council, discuss on the annual report presented by the Rector, choose the University Ombudsman, call extraordinary elections, etc.

Senate Committee


D. Santiago García Granda


Dña. Eva María Cordero González

Sector A - Professors with a PhD of the Teaching Bodies

D. Tomás Emilio Díaz González

Sector B - Rest of the Teaching and Research Staff

D. Antonio Robles Álvarez

Sector C - Students

D. Jorge López de Bustamante Ramos

Sector D - Administrative Staff

Dña. Marta Bárbara Rodríguez Gutiérrez