• II Iberoamerican Meeting of Scientific Journalism and the Iberoamerican 2011's ASICOM-University of Oviedo prizes

    October 07, 2011

    Rodrigo Rato, Jeffrey Davidow, Enrique Agüera, Margarita Zavala and Daniel Brennan have been awarded this year.

    Commemorative sculpture for the prizes, designed by the artist Hugo Fontela

    The Iberoamerican Association of Communication (ASICOM), in collaboration with the Master's degree in Communication and New Technologies of the University of Oviedo (sponsored by La Nueva España, FADE, El Universal, El Instituto de las Américas, Ealy Ortiz Foundation and the Niemeyer Centre), will hold next Monday, 10th of October, at 11:00h, the II Iberoamerican Meeting of Scientific Journalism.

    This edition will take place in the Oscar Niemeyer International Cultural Centre (Avilés) and it will count with the speeches of:

    • Jeffrey Davidow, chief manager of El Instituto de las Américas and Barack Obama's advisor for Latin America, former ambassador of the United States in Mexico from 1993 to 2001.
    • Enrique Agüera, rector of the Benémerita Autonomous University of Puebla (México).
    • Margarita Zavala, first lady of Mexico.
    • Baron Daniel Brennan QC, life member of the House of Lords and founding partner of Matrix Chamber. Former president of the Canning House and the State Bar of England and Wales.

    All of them, along with the chief manager of Bankia and former head of the International Monetary Fund, Rodrigo Rato, will be given the ASICOM- University of Oviedo Iberoamerican Prizes on next Tuesday 11th, at 17:30h. This event will take place in the Auditorium of the Historical Building of the University of Oviedo. These awards will recognize professionals, academics and artists who have excelled in the different disciplines within the Iberoamerican context.

    Related Links: