• The Governing Council approves the concession of the title of Doctor Honoris Causa by the University of Oviedo to John Rutherford

    June 17, 2013

    The British Hispanist is a Professor at the Queen's College of the University of Oxford and is also the Center for Galician Studies of said institution

    British Hispanist John Rutherford.

    The Governing Council of the University of Oviedo approved today, Monday, June 17, in an extraordinary meeting, the concession of the title of Doctor Honoris Causa to John Rutherford, proposed by the Department of Anglo-German and French Philology for his "indisputable prestige and relevant academic and scientific merits, some of them related to the University of Oviedo".

    Rutherford is a British Hispanist who has promoted the knowledge of Spanish culture, especially of its literature. He is a Professor of the Queen's College of the University of Oxford and also the director of the Center for Galician Studies of that institution.

    Moreover, the Council modified the regulations for the Evaluation by Compensation, due to, among other reasons, the creation of the new regulations for staying and progressing in Undergraduate and Master's Degrees, which stipulate that a try for an examination expires when the date passes, even if the student did not take the exam. The change in the regulations will allow students to ask for the compensation once they have exhausted all their tries for one exam.

    Furthermore, the Governing Council also approved several new regulations. Among them, the Regulations for Visiting Students, the Regulations of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, the Regulations for the IES, and, finally, the regulations of the Department of Chemistry and Environmental Technology. It also modified the framework regulations of the Departments in the section regarding leaves of absence: "if absent or ill, the director will be substituted by the assigned sub-director. Otherwise, the substitution will be conducted by the permanent member of the teaching staff of the Department assigned by the director or secretary".